Change is in the air

GOLD-APPLE-WATCHWith more and more of the old guard retiring or leaving Apple it really does feel as if change is in ‘the air’

Looking at the hires Apple has made over the last few years such as key people from Nike, now Burberry and the purchase of Beats last year it feels as if the companies is changing direction. That in Apple’s future the technology will almost be invisible. It will be more about lifestyle.

After all, with the exception of the iPhone smartphone sales are levelling out. Do we really need a 6.1″ curved screen?

It feels like the next logical step in many ways. Where technology is there, but you don’t pay as much attention to it. You care more about the statement it makes, which is already a big deal. Heck an Apple toaster would fly off the Shelves right now!

Apple has become a lifestyle brand in its own right but the luxury ‘gadget’ angle can only take it so far with the masses. Yes the App ecosystem is important but when people whip out their latest device to show the world it’s not Candy Crush you see at first, it’s that beautifully crafted, check me out I have an iPhone 6 Plus logo slapped in your face.

In some ways I miss the old Apple, my trusty MacBook Pro is still my go to machine for much of the day to day work I do but I now have a moto x and surface pro 3 running windows 10. I’m looking elsewhere when it comes to innovation. Go back 3 years and that would never have been the case.

In my mind what Apple is trying to buy now is credibility, in the fashion world, the fitness world etc. The strapline ‘think different’ feels like more of an internal slogan. “Come on guys, what else can do? Who else can we buy? What’s next, we’ve cracked laptops, phones, tablets, TV’s, etc.

Where next… Who knows.

Just my two pennies worth. Anyways, gotta run, I’m off to pick up the Apple toaster I reserved at Argos last night.

Published by

leon

Some people call me an innovation evangelist. I simply see myself as being someone who, whilst not knowing what the future of all things look like, enjoys thinking about and sharing my thoughts with others.

Leave a Reply

